Your Google Alerts can be deleted by anyone

I found out the hard way that my Google Alerts can be deleted by anyone, if they have access to the “Remove” URL.

Here’s how it works: Google will send you e-mail alerts whenever it finds results for any search terms you specify. At the bottom of each message there are 3 links:

  • “Remove this alert”
  • “Create another alert”
  • “Manage your alerts”

The problem is with the first link. I tried it several times, first using Chrome‘s incognito mode but then opening the link on a different browser, making sure that I wasn’t signed in to any Google application.

What happens is that, whenever I open that link, Google removes the alert without asking me to sign in! Google simply presents a message saying “Google Alert cancelled”.

So, be careful when forwarding those Google Alerts e-mails to someone else as they might be able to remove your alert!

Advertisements

One thought on “Your Google Alerts can be deleted by anyone”

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s